Lilith’s Child

Eve was not the first woman of Adam or at least that’s what some biblical texts says. Her first appearance was in the Torá, the Jew holy book, which says that first there was Lilith created by God in the same way He created Adam; from dust. So Lilith was Adan’s equal and because of this Lilith felt she wasn’t under him. They never «got along” together.

Lilith was offended by the lying posture he demanded. «Why should I lie beneath you? She asked: I also was made from dust, and therefore I am your equal. “As Adam tried to force her to obey, Lilith, angered, pronounced the magical name of God, rose into the air and left.

lilith

So she abandoned Adam, condemned by God to give birth to demons…

So yes her image, just as multiple things, were deformed by the Jew/Christian/catholic church interests. Most of the people who know about her thinks she’s a whore, a succubus, only capable of give birth to demons, a lost woman. But I don’t think she’s any of those th
ings. I think she was the first free woman punished because of her conscious and strong will to remain equal.

But, I’m not here to entirely talk about biblical and religious things like that or to make every one’s fragile beliefs in danger. I’m actually here to express something I’ve been thinking for a while, since I’ve start hearing and reading about Lilith’s name due with the role I’ve been given by the society and family (not nuclear) I grew up in (Mexican, plus deeply catholic).

They want me (us women) to be the perfect Eve’s daughter, the perfect «rib» as some men are saying nowadays as a pejorative adjective for women, and a thought has come to my mind and it is: «I prefer to be the daughter of Lilith than Eve’s, because I am not under anyone and I’m also not over any one». I rather be a rebel to this order I’ve been imposed, because I do know my natural role in life, as the animal before human that I am. However, I can’t and I
won’t accept the place they want to give me.

And yes, I’m probably more a demon by proclaiming being Lilith’s child, than the angel I could be by being Eve’s.

Deja un comentario